True Love is Sacrificial

As I laid in bed last night, I thought about what true love means for me.What I hope one day to have with the life partner God intended me to have. Regardless of the failed relationships I’ve had, I know that true love awaits me. I know that the day I make the commitment to love someone for life, it will be the way God intended it to be. Until death do us part.

I’ve never thought love at first sight to be real. I think love comes after you get to know someone, I think the feelings that come with love is a process that develops over time. It happens slowly without you realizing it, you begin to love someones qualities, someones hopes, and dreams. I believe love is a commitment you make. You choose to love your significant other day after day. Feelings are fluttering and they change, but love is not something you simply feel. Everyday you choose to love that person even when they hurt you, even when you’re angry, regardless of the circumstances. I don’t believe love is easy. I think that making the commitment to love someone is the hardest thing you will ever do. You work hard at it and if you do you will reap the reward of true love. It’s a minute by minute decision to try your best to be understanding, to be loving, to be kind, to be supportive, to be there for your significant other. True love for me is not about what you get or how your significant other will serve you, it’s about humbling yourself and giving the best of yourself to that person. I don’t think true love is about keeping score, it’s about true forgiveness. It’s not about competing with each other, it’s about supporting each others dreams. It’s not about loving someone when you think they deserve it, it’s about loving them without justification.

Wherever and whoever you are just know in God’s timing I will love you forever.

Leave a Reply

