The Quiet One

img_1973Today I went to a Christmas party.

I’ve never been the kind of person who truly enjoys social events.  I prefer intimate settings with a few close friends. I’m always that person in the corner just watching the evening unfold. I notice things, I listen, I am sort of invisible, and I’m okay with that. I don’t like small talk, to an extent it feels insincere to me. Plus it’s so awkward for me. So I just sit and I smile. Some perceive me as snobby, some think I’m shy, and some think I’m clueless. No one knows what to make of the quiet person, I’ve known this to be true. Often times people who get to know me will confide that they thought those things of me, but once they truly know me they are surprised. I used to be really anxious to try and be more talkative at social events because I didn’t want people to think I was any of those things. With time I’ve learned that I am perfectly fine with people thinking whatever pleases them about me,  those who care enough to get to know me will tell you that I am none of the above.

So if you are like me, I hope you realize there’s nothing wrong with being the quiet one. Don’t let the world try and mold you into something you are not.

Leave a Reply

