Happy Birthday Mom

img_1974On a day like this, many moons ago, my mother was born.

I don’t tell my mother nearly enough how much I love her. She is a strong, hardworking woman who taught me to be one too. I remember when I was younger my mom told me that I was strong, at that moment I felt quite the opposite honestly, but hearing her say that made me believe that I was. When I am feeling weak and like I’m 1 inch tall, I remember these words. I admire my mother for being such a hardworking woman. Growing up my mom worked 2-3 jobs. I also remember when money was short she’d bake cookies to sell in our neighborhood. When I was younger I hated going door knocking to sell cookies, I honestly dreaded it. I’m thankful for those moments now, they taught me that you do whatever it takes for family. I know she did it for us. I know that it wasn’t easy when she lost her full time job at Wal-Mart. I came home one day from school to find my mom on our living room floor crying, it’s a memory I won’t forget. At that time I didn’t really understand the severity of what it meant that my single mom had lost her job. I knew it was serious, because I can count on my fingers the times I’d seen my mom break down like that. But you know what my mom didn’t do? She never gave up, she worked tirelessly to find a job. It wasn’t long before my mom had a job. She made it look easy. Now that I’m an adult I realize that my mother did so much for us.

I love you mom.

Leave a Reply

