Pack Your Things

img_1975Today I’m moving.

It’s a bittersweet moment. I’m sad to say goodbye to a room that held many happy memories. Sure there were some sad ones, but that was the place Sofia and I called home for over a year. Being a single parent I couldn’t afford our own place, so instead I rented a room in my friends townhouse. My goal was to move out once I could afford to live on my own, but life had different plans. At first I felt like a failure that I couldn’t afford for Sofia and I to have our own place. But today I’m grateful that I can afford for us to have a bigger space, even if we’re just renting a basement in someone’s townhouse. I’m ready to close that chapter of our lives and excited for this one to begin. On the bright side we don’t have to share a bathroom anymore and we have triple the room we had. It’s like a mini apartment, it’s the place we call home for now. I don’t know how long we’ll be here, but I’m hoping the next time we move it’ll be somewhere more permanent. Growing up my family moved often and I know that’s not what I want for my daughter and I. I want to settle down somewhere and call it ours. Our little home sweet home.

 

Leave a Reply

